Franciscan Route II

Historical


Posted on Lunes 23 de Enero del 2017


1529 on land donated by Dona Juana de Zuniga, wife of Hernán Cortés, land works of the convent of the Assumption began, and its cloister and the open chapel of San José, in front of which multitudinous indigenous groups thronged to catechesis. Inside this imposing building was converted in 1891 to the Diocese Cathedral of Cuernavaca created, highlight the frescoes that recall the life of San Felipe de Jesus and a picture of Jesus in full ascension and not crucified as in other churches its tower was attached to the set in the seventeenth century and has undergone several modifications and reconstructions without losing their beautiful proportions. Later evangelization to different towns of Cuernavaca where temples arose that were built based the development of communities and where they carried out the evangelization spread

Download GoAppMX and discover all the information in this route and more:

  • Places
  • Secrets
  • What to do
  • Fun facts
  • Essential
  • Check-in
  • How to get
  • Augmented reality
  • Fotos